5 stars, book reviews, featured, Reviews, Uncategorized
Comments 10

Book Review: A Court of Mist and Fury by The Queen, Sarah J. Maas

Hey, everyone! I’m back from the dead! Life had been closely resembling the seventh layer of hell for a little while, and I was sort of dead inside, but not I have a new little puppy thawing out my frozen heart, so I’m back! Yay!

Anyway, thank you very much to Bloomsbury for sending me a copy of A Court of Mist and Fury for review.

As per my usual protocol, this being a sequel, I will not be mentioning spoilers for either book in the series, so this will probably be a rather short review.

What is this series about? It’s a fantastic re-telling of Beauty and the Beast, but with faeries and super dark scary monsters, and an awesome artist/hunter heroine. If you want more information about the first book in the series, A Court of Thorns and Roses, you can see my review of that here.

FontCandy (100)

What did I think? Uh… I loved it, of course. It’s Sarah J. Maas and she has some kind of God-like storytelling powers that make me physically unable to put down her books Anyone else believe some form of crossroads demon may have been involved in acquiring that talent? Something otherworldly is going on because she is writing this series and the throne of glass series at the same time and I just don’t think that’s humanly possible. Look, I’m not saying Sarah J. Maas is a witch, but witchcraft is definitely involved.

I am having a hard time deciding if this one is as good as, or better than the first. I’m not sure which, but what I am sure of is that this one is a hell of a lot dirtier. This one has definitely made that transition into New Adult, because you don’t find those kinds of unspeakable acts in YA. Nope. While, I had no issues with the books rather frequent, very graphic descriptions of various sex acts, I must say I was not really prepared for it at that level. This is probably not the best choice for younger readers.  BYO Cold Shower.

There are so new, super awesome, characters in this instalment who I absolutely loved every single one of them (please be my friends guys! and “oh I can’t I’m fictional” is no excuse!)

One of the best things about this novel is the world building, we get to learn heaps more about Prythian and the other faery courts. I promise Feyre visits no less than two other courts (not including the Spring court).

I would have likes more of the dark and bloody imagery that Sarah J. Maas is so amazing at, there was a little, but not enough to soothe my dark dark soul.

So this remains one of my favourite series. I just absolutely love it. And everyone should read it (also go read the Throne of Glass books, because they are amazing too). It did get me out of a pretty significant book slump and let me forget about my problems for a while, so I’m pretty happy about that.

I rate it 5/5 stars (unsurprisingly)


Find it here:

Goodreads. The Book Depository. Amazon. Kobo.


 

10 Comments

  1. missdarcy87 says

    Agreed that this one transitions the series into NA. I wasn’t prepared for that going by her writing of other sex scenes in other series. Great review!

    Like

  2. Welcome back from the dead! You were missed (: I have yet to read this series, but you can bet that it’s been on my TBR for a while now! Since this one has been released A Court of Thorns and Roses has been slowly creeping up to the top of my TBR. I’ll get there eventually!

    Like

  3. Pingback: My Top books of 2016 (so far)! | Read the Bloody Book

  4. Pingback: My favourite books of 2016! | Read the Bloody Book

  5. Pingback: Book Review – A Court of Wings and Ruin | Read the Bloody Book

  6. Pingback: A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses #2) by Sarah J. Maas – Navigating Neverland

Leave a comment