featured, Rambles, THE OUTRAGE!, Uncategorized
Comments 6

#BRINGBACKTBSCOVERS

So, in case people are not aware, there is a travesty of publishing about to happen…

THEY ARE GOING TO CHANGE THE COVERS FOR THE BONE SEASON SERIES BY SAMANTHA SHANNON.

YES! These beautiful covers:

Anyone who knows me knows that I absolutely LOVE this series to bits. The most exciting moment of blogging EVER was when I got to the release the first official teaser for the third book, The Song Rising. So naturally, I love Bloomsbury, because they gave me that absolutely incredible opportunity to be part of one of my favourite series. And I’ll always love them for that. I review books for them frequently (and hope I continue to do so), and I have a fairly good relationship with the wonderful people working there.

But I am pretty damn cranky with this proposed cover change. These are the proposed new covers:

What the f**k guys? Seriously? This is the worst cover change I’ve seen since the Across the Universe cover change. And you know what, I never bought the third book in that series, and I never will. Across the Universe is now more famous for the terrible cover change than it is for the actual story, and that’s what’s going to happen here.

Because that cover change, like this one is just a massive middle finger to the fans who have bought the first two books, and I can’t see how this will better the series. It no longer represents the series. It no longer stands out. If I hadn’t read these, this cover would not inspire me to pick these up in a bookstore. I would not even notice them because they look so average.

I would genuinely be so surprised if this cover change doesn’t destroy this series.

Now while I will still buy the The Song Rising, I’ll probably only buy the ebook, because why on Earth would I want this travesty on my shelf?

I don’t mind a cover change happening when it will better the series, but I can’t see how anyone would pick these boring generic monstrosities over the beautiful, unique, original covers.

So what can we do about it? Well, firstly, let’s let Bloomsbury know that we’re really cranky about this.

@Fictiontea on Instagram and Twitter  has started the hashtag #BRINGBACKTBSCOVERS to try to make Bloomsbury aware that we think this is a HUGE mistake.

When the publisher for The Winners Curse series posted their cover change, there was outrage, and you know what happened? They changed it back. People telling the publishers that they were clearly making a mistake worked. So maybe it will work this time.

What I’m NOT going to do: As angry as this makes me, I personally wont be boycotting this book. I love this series too much (I’m weak!) and I think Samantha Shannon is too amazing be punished for this unpleasantness. So I’m definitely still going to buy this book. But only in ebook format.

But we seriously need to Save The Bone Season.

6 Comments

  1. Cait @ Paper Fury says

    OMG THAT’S HORRIBLE!!! I hate mid-series cover changes. I just hate them, period, because it messes up my collection. (And I never have the funds to just go out and re-buy books!) Now I wasn’t really a fan of The Bone Season, but I have half a mind to re-try it someday because it’s so well loved and I feel like maybe I was just in a bad mood when I read it or something hhahhaha. Ahem. BUT YEAH. I’M OUTRAGED WITH YOU.
    Plus those new designs look cheap and bland.😠

    Liked by 1 person

    • How awful are they?! They are SO. BORING. I COULD DIE FROM THE BORDOM. You should retry this series because it is so amazing and the world is one of the most unique ones I’ve ever read. So much love for this series. So much hate for these new covers.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: [Momentan] KW 25 / 2016

  3. Pingback: June 2016 Wrap-up | Read the Bloody Book

Leave a comment