favourites, featured, recommendations, special, Uncategorized
Comments 6

My Top books of 2016 (so far)!

Hello, everyone, and welcome to July. So I’ve read some pretty great books in the first half of 2016. I think my lowest rating was a 3.5/5 so that’s pretty good. Although I haven’t had a huge amount of time to read as I’ve been writing my PhD thesis, so I’ve only really finished books that have really grabbed me. But I’ve still read some really great books, and here they are (in no particular order).

IMG_8849 ps

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas (review)

My goodness I love this series. I just cant get it off my mind. I think about it all the time. It’s just fantastic. Sarah J. Maas is my Queen.

 

IMG_8860 ps

Morning Star by Pierce Brown (review)

This series is just one of the most phenomenal series I’ve ever read. These books have always been there to get me through difficult times when I’ve found it impossible to read anything else. I also named my new puppy after one of the characters, so I think that shows my love for this series. I love how Sevro decided to photobomb my photos of this book in particular.

 

IMG_8847 ps

The Rook by Daniel O’Malley (review)

This book is so hilarious and so inventive and I loved it so much. It’s about bureaucracy in a government department that deals with the paranormal. It’s brilliant!

 

IMG_8850-2 ps

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff (review – well, sort of)

This book is a triumph of creativity. The characters are fantastic, the story is super addictive, and the format is completely unique and fantastic. The guys involved in creating this one just deserve a standing ovation.

 

IMG_8856 ps

 Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo (review)

I was actually really surprised by this book because I didn’t think too much of the Grisha trilogy. In fact I didn’t even bother to read Ruin and Rising. But people just kept raving about this book on Tumblr, so I decided to give it a go, and I loved it. It was so much fun!

 

IMG_8871 ps


So those are my favourites for the beginning of 2016. Have you read any of these? What did you think?


 

6 Comments

  1. Cait @ Paper Fury says

    Eeep, I love your picks! PARTICULARLY MORNING STAR (!!!!) AND SIX OF CROWS (!!!) AND ILLUMINAE (!!!!!!) Omg all the love for those. I am slightly enthusiastic over them I know I know.😂 AHHH Sevro is adorable! I mean, your dog in the background there. 😉 And also fictional-Sevro. I like him too. 😂

    Like

  2. Love your picks! I’ve only read & LOVED ACOMAF & Morning Star! Morning Star was hard to let go of, I am still super attached to the characters. That is too cute, you named you pup Sevro!!! I’m Sooo happy knowing we will see more of this world & that Pierce Brown is already hard @ work writing more in this world. Also hope that the wait isn’t too long for the next ACOTAR book because THAT ending!!!! 😂😂😂

    Like

Leave a comment