recom-monday-tions
Comments 9

Recom-Monday-tions – The Giver by Lois Lowry

“The worst part of holding the memories is not the pain. It’s the loneliness of it. Memories need to be shared.”

IMG_0376 (4)_editedThe Giver is a dystopian novel set in a world where every aspect of every persons life is carefully controlled in order to maintain the peace in the society. Everyone in the society is stripped of their emotions (and anything that could incite and emotional response) and given a family unit and a nice peaceful job. Their lives are peaceful… but utterly dull.

Jonas, our protagonist is chosen to become The Receiver, meaning that he will inherit all of the human race’s collective memories from The Giver. His life becomes a lot more complex as he begins to experience the entire range of human emotions.

IMG_0377 (3)_editedFor a book set in a society that is so devoid of colour and feeling, this is absolutely a book that is
all about the feels. I think what I like best about it is it’s subtlety. It never hits you over the head with its philosophy. It presents you with it’s information, but it is more left up to the reader to really interpret it. It is also absolutely beautifully written.

The Giver is a series of four books (called The Giver Quartet – why? It should be The Giver Tetralogy! This really annoys me. Does it annoy anyone else?), but I have only read the first book, as with so many series. I believe that although the books are connected, each is a separate story.


You can find The Giver here:

Goodreads. The Book Depository: my pretty edition (pictured), the regular edition, the boxset. Amazon. Kobo.


9 Comments

  1. Cait @ Paper Fury says

    AHHH I LOVE THAT FIRST PHOTO SO SO MUCH. IT IS INCREDIBLE. See? Talented. For sure. 😉 And I also adore this book. I only just finished the series this year actually. My favourite is the first, but then the 3rd BROKE ME, and the finale was perfect and sad.

    Like

  2. That first photo is so perfect! I’ve only read the first book, though not sure if I will read the rest. I liked how it ended!

    Like

    • A friend and I totally read the ending to be completely opposite. I really likes that it was ambiguous enough that people could decide what happened without really realising that they weren’t given a solid ending.

      Like

  3. Pingback: September Wrap Up + Book Haul | Read the Bloody Book

Leave a comment